The Star Wars Holiday Special

The Star Wars Holiday Special was created in 1978 and directed by Steve Binder. It takes place after the events of Star Wars: a New Hope and is about a Wookiee holiday known as life day. Han Solo and Chewbacca need to visit Chewbacca’s family and evade the empire. His family waits for him to arrive and try to distract the empire.

Dear god, what has my life come to that I am reviewing this movie? It’s actually worse than the star wars, prequel trilogy. It’s actually kind of hard to describe what’s going on since the movie doesn’t have much of a plot. Right from the beginning, it’s easy to see that this movie’s production value is the lowest of any official star wars movie made at the time. Chewbacca’s family was hard to look at, especially his son. I, a 21-year adult male, found the character design for the family unsettling. I can only imagine how horrifying it must’ve been through the eyes of a child.

The story was rushed, and it lacked memorable characters. It did feature the cast from the original trilogy, but it felt like none of them wanted to be there, especially Harrison Ford. It seemed like he was just reading his lines so he could get as far away from the set as possible, and I don’t blame him. There were also the shorts that diverted from the main “plot” of the story. Most of which were musical numbers, to which I must ask, why? Every single time a song came on I felt the urge to fast-forward until the end, it was nothing but filler. The only short I liked was the one with the band, “The Jefferson Starship.” But it shouldn’t have been in a star wars movie. Every single shot and scene was too long; this movie could have been 20 minutes long, with the shorts being separated into other shorts.

If I had to rate the movie, I would give it a 2/10. It was so bad I had to put away my remote so I wouldn’t be tempted to pause or change the movie. After watching the movie, I can only think of this quote. “If I had the time and a sledgehammer, I would track down every copy of that show and smash it.” –George Lucas.

Leave a Reply

